Circuit Racing

Circuit races or Criteriums take place on closed-road circuits and are great for both experienced riders as well as also being particularly suitable for new and first time riders that are looking to get into racing.

Races are classified according to ability and all new racers start as a fourth category rider having signed up for a British Cycling licence. Riders then accrue points based on finishing positions to move through the ranks (fourth, third, second, first categories and elite). Twelve points are required to move from fourth cat to third cat, for example. Some events allow riders to buy a day licence in order to race, but you will not be eligible for British Cycling points.

Age categories are taken from the riders age on January 1st and remain for the whole year. Age categories are in two year blocks from under 8 up to under 16. From the Junior category 16 – 18 years and above age categories become secondary and ability category takes over.

Races typically last between 40 to 60 minutes and are run from a number of circuits locally, including Stourport-on-Severn, Sundorne (Shrewsbury), Tudor Grange (Solihull) and Curborough (Lichfield).

Details of all local circuit races including the calendar for the Stourport series other rides can be found on the British Cycling Events page.